Architecture

  • Church designed by Boston architect Asher Benjamin in the Charles Bulfinch style

  • Supposedly, the plans came from a church designed for Lancaster MA that was never built

  • King post or center support is a 12” X 18” truss

  • Originally the foundation was wood, but it was replaced

  • Sunbursts fans over windows, an exultation of joy

  • Greek Iconic columns, honeycomb molding, wave patterns. Based on Egyptian columns that were originally made from wreaths

  • Originally, there was no recess behind the pulpit. “Trompe l’oeil (Trick of the eye) was used to give the appearance of depth, showing two “statues” of St John and St. Peter on the left and right. The pulpit was in the middle, with the appearance of sculpture in back of it. The frescos were done by Walburg of Boston

  • Sounding board above pulpit is unique to New England and one of only 15 remaining. It was added in 1896.

  • Top of pews is mahogany

  • The window glass is original glass, so it has existed since 1825

  • The table you see in front of the pulpit was donated by the church women in 1908. It was originally used for communion

  • The communion set is the original set, but no longer used.